Reviews/Press

Recent Comments and Reviews
October 2011 for ferdiesfoodlab

=  =  =  = What people are saying about ferdiesfoodlab =  =  =  =  =  =

Article in Verdens Gang - VG Weekend Food Journey
I most remember about ferdiesfoodlab are quality of food, trying new dishes, attention from host and the chance to have interesting conversations with people from so many different walks of life.       From me you get 5 starts!! - Ana J

Great concept and passion for food! - Paul W

Thank you for a wonderful evening - Dasha

Fabulous lovely evening - we want Chef to announce courses please! - Anne

Very good atmosphere (once lights dimmed!) all very tasty! Thanks! - Ted

September 2011 for ferdiesfoodlab

Fab YouTube channel post on ferdiesfoodlab from Mr Drink 'n' Eat 
Mr Drink 'n' Eat - Pairing Wine for ferdiesfoodlab Menu
   

Just wanted to drop you a note and say THANK YOU! for an amazing time on Friday at ferdiesfoodlab. The food was incredible and I particularly loved the ‘pork plate’ you did for me as I’m allergic to crab. (I have been asked by my friends to stop talking about the food as I keep going on about it…)
This was the first supper club I have been to and I think you have set the bar very high.

Thanks so much and I hope to be back again soon

Jo x

It was brilliant! A + M xx

Crab was the best crab I've ever eaten, lovely evening!

Thank you it was a lovely evening, Nina x

Lots of love with the last course at ferdiesfoodlab!

 
=  =  =  = What people are saying about ferdiesfoodlab =  =  =  =  =  =
The crab, wasn't from the Barents Sea it was from another planet! - Tom

Ham / Champagne excellent! - Janet

Everything was delicious, maybe a utensil for the crab? We used our fingers! - Absolutely fabulous night! -  Dave & Diana


August for ferdiesfoodlab


=  =  =  =  =  = What people are saying about ferdiesfoodlab =  =  =  =  =  =
Absolutely phenomenal food last night @ferdiesfoodlab the lamb was perfection, everything was - Kieran

fabulous banquet style event...  - Fiona

Had a lovely time @ferdiesfoodlab. Surrounded by interesting people - Tehbus

Craving those white choc black olive things you served on sat.... They were YUM - Serena

Your food is incredible. Best supperclub food I've had - Richard

The food was a triumph! Thank you! - Victoria





Please come back I would love to know how we compare! : )



Pescatarian point of view of ferdiesfoodlab from 1 of the 3 Men & A Bay Leaf


First in depth review of ferdiesfoodlab from The London Foodie    << * * MUST READ!! * *




Post on ferdiesfoodlab from A Girl in Walthamstow



August 2011
About Leluu: London Confidential
Blog Post About Leluu: 40 Not So Single

July 2011
Blog Post: A Girl In Walthamstow

June 2011

Jamie Oliver News Stories: 


Blog Post: Vegetarian & Me(at)

Blog Post: Never Eat Wobbly Jelly

ES Magazine
"Hackney's 'Little Hanoi' is spreading west with the opening of Cay Tre on Dean St, an elegant offshoot of the Shoreditch Vietnamese joins Cay Tre and Viet Grill.  "I'm please because there are no Vietnamese places in this part of town" says chef, Mark Hix,whose restaurant is on nearby Brewer St.  Supper Clubbers should visit Fernandez & Leluu's blog to find out when they are next serving a Vietnamese menu."

May 2011
FT Weekend: From Vietnam With Love By Tim Hayward
Blog Post On Buckingham Palate: Vietnamese Please

Fine Dinning Lovers

April 2011 (Mostly on Leluu's Brunch With Jordan's Cereals)
Blog Post On The Grubworm: The Big Brunch
Blog Post On Kavey Eats

Blog Post On Gourmet Chick - Breakfast Club
Blog Post On Fuss Free Flavours
Blog Post On Slow Food Kitchen
Blog Post On Domestic Sluttery
Blog Post On The Afternoon Tease

March 2011
Review On Jamie Oliver.com


Elle Spain


Blog Post By The London Foodie - Supper Clubs WIth A Difference


Blog Post By Rocket & Squash

Blog Post By One Dish Closer To Perfection
Blog Post By What I Ate Last Night



News By Dalston People


February 2011

Guest Post On Jamie Oliver.com

Huge Magazine (Japan)

January 2011
Cookery Class:

Blog Post By Swedish Meatball Eats London 




"Hi Uyen, We just wanted to say that we had an absolutely brilliant time at your cooking class on Saturday. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking, the eating and as much as anything, the company.
Mathew"

"Just wanted to say thanks... It was absolutely fantastic! Laura"

Mention on Groupon Blog



Vietnamese Cook Class By Curiosity & The Cupcake


Vietnamese Cook Class By Hungry In London

Blog Post By Fifteen Pickles

Article in The London Magazine


November 2010

Blog Post By Miss Immy's London


Blog Post By Feed & Gastro: Fight Hunger: Eat In Campaign 

Blog Post By One Million Gold Stars: Eat In Campaign

Blog Post By Gin & Crumpets: Eat In Campaign

2nd Blog Post By The Grubworm


Blog Post By Greedy Diva "...Vietnamese Feasting At its Best"

Blog Post By Eat Noodles Love Noodles: Action Against Hunger @ Fernandez & Leluu

Ten - Top Ten Pop Up Restaurant


October 2010

Blog Post By Secret Dinner Party

Blog Post: A supper club night at Fernandez and Leluu’s with Unearthed and Action Against Hunger



Paper Magazine - October Issue-  NYC 

 2nd Blog Post By Gourmet Lovers


Blog Post: Review By The Grubworm - 'A Supper Club Supreme'
"The whole table erupted with laughter and I, a little tipsily, reached for the bottle of wine and found, to no-one’s surprise, that it was empty. I was still reeling a little from the concentrated aromatic hit of Pho (who knew that broth could be that good)..."





September 2010

Top Five London Supper Clubs

French Glamour Magazine October 2010 Issue

Mama Lan Supper Club Blog Post

Article Business Traveller

The London Foodie Blog Post: Picnic At Henley Regatta
"So entranced were we with the delicious food, champagne and company that we completely missed the race, entering the enclosure about 5 minutes before the end of the event! What a lovely day nevertheless."

Blog Post By Umami Muktuk And Tiger Nuts 
"This was certainly no ordinary meal, we were treated to a seven course extravaganza, with a tiny team of two presenting the thrity assembled guests with plate after plate of fantastic food".


The Aftertease Revisted 
"The real beauty of Simon and Uyen’s food is that it’s so fresh and full of taste! I’m in complete awe of how they manage to shoehorn so much flavour into what are in essence fairly uncomplicated dishes. It’s honest food, the kind of food that you can’t hide behind. I can say, hand on heart, that I would choose a meal at the Fernandez and Leluu Supper Club over the showy foams and emulsions offered in eateries like the Dorchester or L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon any day of the week."

The Aftertease 
"Well…what can I say…I have fallen in love with the Fernandez and Leluu Supper club and will most definitely be returning if they’ll have me back. I was totally amazed at the professional standard of the food being produced in what was in reality a fairly small non commercial kitchen. We all commented on the quality of the food - there had definitely been no expense spared on ingredients and it was worth every penny of my donation. I believe that that standard of food can only be produced by people who fully appreciate, understand and have an all encompassing passion for food and I have come away from my first supper club experience completely and utterly inspired!"

Blog Post By Tales From The Tiny Kitchen

Blog Post By Dick & Fanny

August 2010

Review By Pips Dish

Blog Post By The Reluctant Londoner
@reluctantlondon: "
Delicious dinner last night at @fernandeznleluu, set the supper club bar very high!"


Blog Post By The Food Archive
@thefoodarchive
"Had a great time @Fernandeznleluu last night! Great GREAT food, lovely people and super friendly!"



@gem_yo
"Love @fernandeznleluu even more now. Best dinner ever. Amazing hospitality and fun. Off to Clerkenwell to party"

@rachel_cocker
"ace eve, courtesy of ace cooks @fernandeznleluu last night. again, again, again please x"

@MrDrinkNeat
"possibly the best Squid Ink Risotto I have ever had!!! @fernandeznleluu"

Keeley
"I just want to thank you all again for a fabulous night last night.  I was a pop-up virgin until last night and now I am a convert.  The food and company were both fabulous.  Catering for all those people, to such a high standard, in a domestic kitchen, is amazing.  You are very clever! ;0) Thank you again.  I will be back and am spreading the word."

Sally
"Thank you so much for my first experience in eating in an ‘underground’ restaurant, it was  amazing and I had such a truly memorable evening."

Blog Post By Stuffyaface:

Bronwyn
"Thank you so much for a fabulous evening last Friday. We met interesting people and ate gorgeous food in lovely, relaxed surroundings.  What more could we wish for!  We'll certainly be contacting you again. Warmly, Bronwyn, Arthur & Josh"


The Evening Standard 9th August 
"...My favourites are those chefs who mix cultural influences — such as the inspired sashimi and chips at Fernandez and Leluu ....”

Johnny:
"Hey...thanks again you two for making a fantastic bday dinner party for me and my motley crew! Judging by the feedback, its been one of my best! Cheers again, Johnny X"

Kim
"Hey, just wanted to thank you for a great evening! Your hosting and food was brilliant. Ps The wine you gave me in the cab put you at the top of my super cool list! Thanks again, and let me know bout future nights... Kim"

Naomi
"Thank you so much for dinner last night, it was beautiful and I had a great time.  I'll be coming back for sure!"

Emma
"Thank you both for such a wonderful evening.  You created a fabulous environment and the food was sensational."

Peter
"Thank you for a most delightful and engaging evening. Very impressed with how you both pulled off the combination of fine food and balanced company. Remarkable."

Blog Post: Hungry In London

Simon
"I just wanted to drop a quick note to say thanks for the meal the other night.  It really was delicious.  I still can't quite decide which course was my favourite...."


July 2010
BBC Radio 4 - The Food Programme

Grace 
"Thank you both again for a lovely meal tonight and for accommodating our dietary needs.  You were very kind and we had a great time in the garden."

@LexEat
"Just wanted to thank you again for such a lovely night last night. I'm so glad I've finally been! The space and the crowd were fabulous and I really enjoyed the food - I'm still dreaming about that beef pho!"



@theshedlikesfood
"Thanks once again for such a lovely evening, and apologies for keeping you up so late - you create such a great atmosphere we didn't want to leave! It was so nice to finally meet you both - hope to see you soon. All I can think about is your lovely pho! Have fun over the weekend - I hope you manage to fit in some fun too - Nicola"

@thelondonfoodie
"@fernandeznleluu @VintageMacaroon - thank you for sitting me with Debbie & those lovely Canadians (Dana and Naomi), they were all awesome!"

Laura"...I can not recommend this highly enough!"


@digressica
"So, @fernandeznleluu on Fri night was brilliant. Thanks Simon & Uyen, we loved it times a million. Wonderful food, atmosphere, everything!"

Kristen:
"I just wanted to drop a quick email thank you to you guys for such a lovely night last night. We really loved the experience and the food was amazing! It was all sublime but I have never had anything like that purple dip that went with the bread at the beginning. The colour and taste just blew us away. What was that??? Recipe?? Or is that a trade secret...
Great experience and so happy to have finally got the “nerve” to try a supper club. I think not having to choose your meal and being surprised was fantastic."


Stephanie:
"thankyou for a wonderful evening. the food was exquisite and the night was fabulous we both had a great time. thankyou so much and we hope to see you again soon."


David:
"...We had the most amazing time and your food was extraordinary, I personally really loved the Lemongrass & Rainbow Trout Soup With Glass Noodles, Pak Choi, Corriander & King Prawn, do you ever give out the recipes? Anyway, thanks again, we're already planning to come back!"

Stasa:
"You must be in the kitchen prepping away for another feast tonight. Thank you so much for such lovely food yesterday!! Our favorites were: beetroot dip, pea soup, vegetable terrine and the rainbow trout soup (would you share the recipe for this one?) Absolutely delicious!!!"


Dana:
"Thanks for a lovely evening - the food was scrumptious and the ambience & company so enjoyable. You two work so hard - I really admire it and think you're doing very well."


Blog Post By: The Happiness Project 
Blog Post By Tamarind & Thyme -   Picnic At Henley Royal Regatta


Blog Post By: Feast On Scraps - Picnic At Henley Royal Regatta

 Blog Post By: Meemalee's Kitchen - Picnic At Henley Royal Regatta
Blog Post By Greedy Diva - Picnic At Henley Royal Regatta

Blog Post By Violets Curd/ The Hatcham Supper Club - Picnic At Henley Royal Regatta

June 2010

Vivian
"I never had the opportunity to thank you for an amazing meal and a lovely atmosphere.  I am crazy for Pho and could sit on your doorstep for scraps... "


Lovina
"I just wanted to thank you for another lovely dinner last Thursday.  Everyone on our table enjoyed your hospitality and the great food.  They were told on no uncertain terms that they had better turn up after having accepted the invitation! Am so pleased that you are gaining a bigger and bigger reputation - I hope both of you keep enjoying the good work. :)
 P.S. The ham and fig mouthfuls were a delightful combination".  


@Fire&Knives
"Friday night's pho @fernandeznleluu was my best ever but I'm starting to fear that even the finest is just a gateway drug for bun bo hue"

@beekernortham
"STILL dreaming of the amazing @fernandeznleluu on friday. a lotus/pho/tortilla/sashimi and chips/coconut sorbet/ *pea soup* dream"
"we LOVE you! thank you so much for the awesome evening."

@violetscurd
"@beekernortham @fernandeznleluu We've been having identical dreams Beeker! What a sensational food-filled evening it was."

"@fernandeznleluu A fabulous dinner and delightful company! Thank you very much for such a fantastic evening! Xx"

@thelondonfoodie
"The most wonderful, the sweetest pho I can remember having, fantastic at @fernandeznleluu, love it! Lx"

Shama
"thank you so much for a super scrummy lovely night last nite...def the best secret supper club!!!!!"

Emma
"Just wanted to write and say what a wonderful time we had at yours last night : the environment was fab, the welcome warm, and the food - well, what can I say - it was super fantastic.  I have been thinking about it a lot today.....mmm.
My absolute favourites, though a tough choice, were the pea soup, and the tuna sashimi & chips.  Wonderful. Thank you again, and I really hope to return in not too long a time from now."

Blog Post: By Gourmet Lovers
Sarah: "Hi, I came last night and really enjoyed myself - the food was just amazing!"


Hayley: (From Qype Reviews)
"Now that I have experienced the full Fernandez & Leluu supper club experience I thought I would pop back and do a quick update to my review.

'WOW' is probably the best word to sum it up. I'd never been to a supper club before so I didn't really know what to expect, though having tasted some of Simon and Uyen's food before at the Qype / After Eight Jim Haynes event I knew that it would be to a high standard.
Let's just say I was not disappointed. The six courses were all absolutely delicious; in fact it baffles me how so much flavour can be packed into what could so easily be quite a simple little dish. I won't try and explain the intricacies of the menu as I could never do it justice, but here are the six courses we ate on our evening:

-Rice Pasta With Crispy Pork Belly & Cured Ham
-Beef Pho
-Chargrilled Lemongrass Pork Patties
-Seared Beef Salad With Lime, Coriander, Peanuts, Sugar Snap Peas & Chips
-Caramelised Catfish
-Coconut Sorbert

I must say I particulary enjoyed the Beef Pho (first time I had tried Pho - soooo tasty and more-ish) and the seared beef salad, which was accompanied by the most perfect bowl of chips I have ever tasted.
As ever, the hospitality was spot on and all of our fellow diners were very lovely and laid-back.
I wish I could give them six stars."

Nathan: "Thanks again for another brilliant nite!! Really appreciate you guys leaving out the garlic where poss for my Sis, who had a Fab time".

Blog Post By Things Wot I Have Seen
Maxine: "...just wanted to say thanks so much for a great night at yours the week before last. The food was fantastic, and was so nice to get chatting to lots of new people..."

Blog Post By The Chocolate Grape

May 2010
Sophie: "Thanks for a lovely dinner. We're thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the food was fabulous."

Helena:
"hello fernandez and leluu!
i had dinner in your house yesterday, my name is helena and i was there with gemma, jack and ben.i just wanted to thank you for the fantastic evening: the food was amazing and it is so cool that you guys open your house to people the way you do. i hope to come round some other time soon!"

Meggie:
"...just wanted to write and say thank you SO much for such a brilliant evening!
Richard and I had a ball and that's before I mention the food - amazing! We had a blast, thank you so much!"

Tiffany:
"Thank you for an amazing night!  It was absolutely delicious and we all had a great time."

Sally:
"Thank you again for making our first Supper Club experience such a lovely one"

Ephemerette
"Thank you both (and Mia too) for being such fantastic hosts and so nice of you to make stuff specially for Ed! We'll definitely try and plan to visit regularly (or keep nicking last min cancellation spots!)".

Gourmet Traveller 


April 2010
After Eights Event With Jim Haynes In Association With Qype

Qype Blog

London Eater: By Kang L


A Rather Unusual Chinaman: TehBus

The Grubworm





Qype Reviews

One Million Gold Stars

Domestic Sluttery
 

Life As She Knows It: By Hayley Dunlop

Billy's Booze

SianyLand: By Sian Mendes:
Jim Haynes A True Inspiration & Meeting Jim Haynes

Tamarind & Thyme: By Su-Lin

The Wine Sleuth

Bollocks To The Wellingtons



March 2010
Ephemerette

A Pinch Of Salt: By Katy Salter


February 2010
Feast On Scraps By Laura Silver

Bloggett By Simon Doggett: A Diner's Guide (And Open Love Letter) To London'd Supper Club


Saj:
"We had so much fun last night, everyone has been raving about it. Thank you thank you."



January 2010
One Million Gold Stars: New Year's Eve

Le Temps: Swiss Paper
January 2010
Gastrogeek

The London Foodie: New Years Eve


December 2009



TomEatsJenCooks: Revisited

Gin And Crumpets


The London Foodie

The London Foodie Revisted

Luiz:
"We had a marvellous time yesterday, the food was sensational!"


Nancia:
"Thanks so much. I had a fun time and loved the food!"


Abigail:
"Just wanted to say thanks so much for a wonderful evening. Fab food, lovely company, really enjoyed myself."


Nathan:
"Wanted to say a massive thank you for the other night. I had an absolutely brilliant evening."


November 2009
Tom: 
"thanks so much or such a wonderful supper. It really was one of the best meals I have had for ages (food, ambience and all)."

TomEatsJenCooks



Matthew:
"Just to say thanks for Saturday. Impressive stuff. I have to say my favourite feature is sharing a table with strangers. I'm not sure it would have been so much fun for me if R and I had been stuck on a table for two in the corner, and god knows it would have been less fun for her...Compliments to the chef!"

The Princess And The Recipe
Aaron:
"A quick thanks for a fantastic evening - Uyen, Simon, the food was simply wonderful!"

Michael:
"Thanks so much for a great evening. We particularly enjoyed the monkfish main with the squid ink risotto.  Not so sure about the garlic soup though- will give that another go to see if it's a taste that can be acquired. Some coffee at the end would have been nice, but the taste of the cardamom icecream was a winner."


Love Poppy

Parin:
"Thank you so much for last night.  I thoroughly enjoyed myself and the food was superb!"

Lovina:
"Thank you for opening your home to us.  It was certainly one of the most enjoyable dinner experiences we've had for a long time and P perked right up even though he was feeling really under the weather that day.  I think you guys are brave to take on this venture and hope you will keep it up.  I will be keeping an eye out on your future menus, especially the Vietnamese cuisine nights."

Chris:
"thanks so much for the other night, we had a lovely time and the food was fantastic - I especially enjoyed the sausage in cider and the chick peas"

Eva:
"Thanks for supper club, i loved the food and met some really nice people, it was funny; there was only a slight bit of kind-of-blind-date awkwardness at the beginning when we introduced ourselves but the rest of the night it was just like eating with old friends. I would definitely like to come again "

The Londonist

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails